The wor(l)d in a grain

Grain

I got nothing. Or do I?

I have several hours (to kill or not to kill), two palms, endless grains of sand, and once I step outside again, I no doubt will encounter at least a few wild flowers. All that remains is for me to remove the scales of metaphorical sleep from my eyes and to hold my palms still for long enough not to keep letting the grains of truth slip away.

One of my favourite stories is somewhat relevant. As re-told by J. Krishanmurti:

“You may remember the story of how the devil and a friend of his were walking down the street, when they saw ahead of them a man stoop down and pick up something from the ground, look at it, and put it away in his pocket. The friend said to the devil, “What did that man pick up?” “He picked up a piece of Truth,” said the devil. “That is a very bad business for you, then,” said his friend. “Oh, not at all,” the devil replied, “I am going to let him organize it.”

A second favourite story is the Snow Queen, which is for me like a re-telling of Blake’s poem. Some of the splinters from the shattered troll-mirror are no larger than a grain of sand. One of these splinter’s is lodged in Kai’s eye, and yet the challenge given him by the Snow Queen is to form the word ‘eternity’ from pieces of ice, much like the one lodged in his eye and that have turned his heart equally cold. The Snow Queen’s ‘mirror of reason’, though, is as much of a fun-house mirror as the one belonging to the trolls. It is only through the splinters of ice being caught up in the dance of Kai and Gerda that the word ‘eternity’ can finally be spelled.

So to mash-up two favourite songs: I got no diamonds, got no pearls…but I got the sun in the morning, and the moon at night, and I got rhythm. If I can teach my palms to dance, then you can imagine the rest. I won’t need to try to keep reasoning away or together the needed alchemy of Blake. I can become the dancing tigger (intentional) burning bright. The blessed symmetry will happen when I can shake off the false immortality of splintered eyes.

Standard

Leave a Reply

